Don't Miss
Home > Blog > A-League 2015/16 – Grand Final – Adelaide Paints The Town Red

A-League 2015/16 – Grand Final – Adelaide Paints The Town Red





Adelaide Too Good, Finally Break Their Finals Hoodoo

Adelaide United and their fans had a day to remember on May 1st as the club stormed to their first ever A-League championship title defeating Western Sydney Wanderers 3-1 in an entertaining game that had a couple of sensational goals as well as some nervy moments in the second half as the Wanderers chased the Reds lead.

After a typically cagey opening twenty minutes, the game was blown wide open by Kenyan born Bruce Kamau who latched onto a cross whipped in by Marcelo Carrusca, clipping the ball past Andrew Redmayne and giving the Reds the early advantage.  It was a huge weight off the shoulders of the Reds.  In two previous grand final appearances, not only had they lost both games, they failed to get on the score sheet.

The Reds doubled their advantage shortly after the half hour mark with an inch perfect free kick from Spaniard Isaias.  For his goal and tremendous efforts bossing the midfield, the Adelaide midfielder would go on to win the Johnny Warren medal.

The game was a fine spectacle and befitting conclusion to what has turned into a thrilling A-League season as far as the on-field product is concerned.  Seeing the sea of red at ground whipping up a fantastic atmosphere and following that up with the jam-packed trophy presentation in the city, its pleasing to see that Adelaide is a proud footballing town that finally got its moment in the sun.  It’s the sort of moment that can sustain a club for years, bringing on potentially thousands of new memberships in future seasons and making reality the dreams of kids in South Australia who aspire to play football professionally and win titles in front of their home supporters.

For the Wanderers, the grand final was a bridge too far after the gruelling semi-final against Brisbane.  To come back from 3-0 down in a home semi was one thing.  To try and claw back a two goal deficit against a home team that could actually defend properly was more than they could handle.  Fans online enjoyed the sight of Mitch Nichols labouring on the field for 50 minutes on his birthday before being ignominiously being substituted – a sharp dose of karma after his post-match shenanigans flipping the bird at Brisbane Roar fans a week prior.

For Tony Popovic, the result will be a huge disappointment.  He remains one of the most successful managers in the league with an incredible record of winning an Asian Champions League, a Premiere’s Plate and making 3 grand final appearances in 4 years.  But to come home empty handed after 3 finals games will sting and the club now wears the stigma of being the competition bridesmaids.

The game wraps up a wild season in the A-League.  Adelaide are deserved winners with their incredible form in the second half of the season losing just a single game from their last twenty.  Winning an A-League championship is hard.  Defending it is even harder.  Only Brisbane Roar have managed to go back-to-back.  How will Adelaide fare?  We find out in six months time when the 2016/17 season begins.

Revisiting My Start Of Season Predictions


I made some predictions for Season 11 back in October in this post.

Here’s how I went.

Predicted Final Standings

1.  Melbourne Victory (wrong! 6th)
2.  Sydney FC (wrong! 7th)
3.  Western Sydney Wanderers (wrong! 2nd)
4.  Wellington Phoenix (wrong! 9th)
5.  Melbourne City (wrong! 4th)
6.  Adelaide United (wrong! 1st)
7.  Perth Glory (wrong! 5th)
8.  Brisbane Roar (wrong! 3rd)
9.  Newcastle Jets (wrong! 8th)
10.  Central Coast Mariners (correct!)

Actual Final Standings

1.  Adelaide United
2.  Western Sydney Wanderers
3.  Brisbane Roar
4.  Melbourne City
5.  Perth Glory
6.  Melbourne Victory
7.  Sydney FC
8.  Newcastle Jets
9.  Wellington Phoenix
10.  Central Coast Mariners

General Predictions


  • Besart Berisha will be the top scorer in the competition.  WRONG!  Bruno Fornaroli was the Golden Boot winner
  • Tony Walmsley will be the first coach to lose his job.  WRONG!  Inexplicably – and a competition first – not a single manager was sacked
  • The final will be between Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC in a grand final repeat.  WRONG!  Neither team made the final
  • Melbourne Victory will win the FFA Cup  CORRECT!
  • Melbourne Victory will win the treble – the minor premiereship, the grand final and the FFA Cup  WRONG!  Victory won the FFA Cup but Adelaide took the rest of the silverware

About Edo

Edo currently lives in Australia where he spends his time playing video games and enjoying his wife's cooking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *